Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion I am Looking for a job as a trainee ROV Technician.

I am Looking for a job as a trainee ROV Technician.

Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion I am Looking for a job as a trainee ROV Technician.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Alex Holme
    Participant

Hi I have been a Royal Marine mechanic for 12 years and I am leaving, I have just completed a ROV Technician 11 course at MTCS and am looking for employment in the ROV industry. Please could any one help me as I am struggling to find some one who is employing at this time, I am willing to travel and I am ideally looking to gain off sure experience.
    Thank you to anyone that can help.
    Alex

Des_b
    Participant

Hello mate,

All you can do is keep trying. Its a catch 22 as you need experience to get a job…..just google the hell out of it, and keep looking. You are up against hundreds of people wanting the same thing. Look in the rookie section for info, there is plenty of it….

Best of luck!

Des

Ray Shields
    Participant

Booty,

the million dollar question, you and tens of thousands of others.

Read through the Rookie section, this question has been asked (and answered) hundreds of times already. Also have a look at the FAQ (link on the left side).

The industry takes on people for their technical ability to maintain and repair the equipment – you learn to fly and operate on the ob. Look at your technical qualifications and background. If you are mainly mechanical, see what you can do in increase your electrical/electronic knowledge or qualifications. Same for fibre optics, basic networking etc. Also health & safety, COSHH, risk assessments etc.

These training school courses are no more than an introduction to ROVs. On their own they will not get you a job, you must have a good technical background as well (but then there are thousands of others who also do as well).