Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner An ROV Career!?

An ROV Career!?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner An ROV Career!?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Wump
    Participant

Hello all, been reading the forums and the rest of the site for a few weeks now so i thought it high time I registered and introduced myself!

You have all probably heard this question a thousand times but I havnt found that much info in the FAQ’s or existing posts.

I am currently beginning a complete career change and I am very determined to get a position as an ROV pilot tech. However, I know this isnt going to be easy as I have no background in Elec/Eng/Hydraulics. I understand that these are usually a pre req for being taken on?

After a long conversation with a sparky I met a couple of months ago (who works on cable ships as an ROV pilot) I decided to go for it. He is currently working for Technip in the N sea. He seems to think that with my academic background (have a BSc in marine biology and an MRes in aquatic chemical ecology/immunogenetics) I would stand a half decent chance of getting a trainee position as the industry is apparently screaming out for ROV staff at the moment? Cant ee how just with my academ history that I would be employable, but he knows alot more than me about the industry obviously.

Had lots of different jobs in the past including joiner, bricky’s mate,plumbers mate, restaraunt manager, store manager, chef and until recently I was a medical rep for J&J, selling pharmaceuticals to docs and surgeons. Didnt really like the ass kissing involved so gave it up.