Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner dazed and confused!

dazed and confused!

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner dazed and confused!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Mick
    Participant

After spending alot of time doing my homework, reading all these forums and taking in various advice for several months now. I am getting a bit dishartened. After originally looking at doing a course in Fort Bill, but then by chance got a start as a trainee, unfortunetly bad luck the job fell through at last minute, I then carried on applying to rov companies direct. Being a mechanic by trade, and experience working offshore, I listened to the advice of people saying don’t bother with the courses. But have had many knock backs from various companies. I get frustrated when I hear stories of plumbers who have done an rov course and then get a job, so when I do hear this it makes me think again about doing a course. I was at the point of thinking I don’t have what companies are looking for and to start making myself more employable by doing an electronics course, from reading many of Ray shields well adviced replies to people.
    Also after reading Paul B’s responses from the underwater centre, makes me wonder whether I am doing the right thing.
    So I find myself dazed and confused as what to really think about the courses. When all said and done I know it is different for all individuals looking to get into the industry at the end of the day it is down to commitment, perseverance and having the right attitude, and by the sounds of most alot of luck.

Oh what to do!

Ray Shields
    Participant

Did you get any feedback at all from any of the companies you applied to?

Mick
    Participant