Home Forums ROV ROV Personnel Available For Work Ex Military Firefighter Looking for ROV work.

Ex Military Firefighter Looking for ROV work.

Home Forums ROV ROV Personnel Available For Work Ex Military Firefighter Looking for ROV work.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Jed
    Participant

I’m an ex British military Fire Officer, 15 years Royal Air Force, 12 years Royal Navy.
    I have 8 years experience in computer building/repair with my own part time business and I have worked for two years in industrial engineering, I’ve experience with mechanics, hydraulics and servicing, welding (MiG/stick) and high pressure air systems and its servicing.
    I was trained on Seaeye Falcon ROV’s at the Underwater Center.

I am also a qualified ALST.

I have my Universal Survival and Norwegian medical and can start work immediately.

And for those of you that might want to take the time to look….here’s a short vid of my flying at the UWC.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9FyBCCiLuo

Ray Shields
    Participant

Quote from you :-

I’m at the UWC on the 21st July. As an ex Fire Officer I’ll have no previous (or so it seems) usefull background experience. I have the strong feeling that £12,000 is about to be wasted.

Have you still got that feeling?

Jed
    Participant

Well, after finishing the course and then spending days going around the big firms in Aberdeen to speak personally to the HR people and give them my CV and sending out 70+ CVs all around the world I am still well and truly unemployed.
    So you can imagine how I feel about that.
    Though I try to stay positive and keep ploughing out my CV.
    But predominantly the answer I receive is that more experience is required and until I get that it’s a no go. The usual Catch 22.
    My past experience at present seems to mean little.
    I do get the feeling I’M being wasted.

Ray Shields
    Participant