Home Forums General General Board First trip

First trip

Home Forums General General Board First trip

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    daniboy1_2_3
    Participant

How do future workmates, i have just been offered a job with subsea 7 and would like to pick a few brains please. My first trip will be about mid may and i wondered if anyone would share a few stories of how their first trips went, what went wrong and right and any good advice you can think of. Not being a technician i know its going to be a struggle to grasp whats going on quickly and no doubt i`ll feel like a plank for a while. Anyway i look forward to anyones first trip story if you can be bothered!, cheers.

Ray Shields
    Participant

Depending on the team you are with, they may already have their "routines" they may be unsure of you or they may just be miserable bastids 😀

People forget what its like to be offshore for the first time, get on with their own jobs, see you standing about doing nothing and think "lazy bugger".

Meanwhile you are standing there, wondering what to do and waiting for someone to give you something to do. Even if you are not given something to do, FIND something, even if its cleaning up.

Ask questions, read the manuals, be busy. Follow someone as they do the job, watch what they do, ask them questions, get to know the routine jobs first, make the connections with the guys you are working with and you will enjoy your trip much better.

And at the other extreme, dont jump into jobs without knowing what you are doing, you will soon learn its safety safety safety. There is no point in doing a job quicker but unsafe – you will just be shouted at!

Mick
    Participant

Congrats Dannyboy,