Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Flight Engineer looking for advice on courses

Flight Engineer looking for advice on courses

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Flight Engineer looking for advice on courses

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    NeilM
    Participant

Hi all

I am a Flight Engineer with nearly 20 years experience. Due to an uncertain future I am looking to change jobs in around 2 years time. I therfore have 2 years to do as many courses and qualifications as possible. Having read this forum for some time I have an idea of what is required but wondered if anyone could give me specific advice. My job involves the management and operation of all aircraft systems including fault finding, diagnosis and emergency drills as part of a team. I guess some sort of HNC/HND in Electrical/Mechanical/Mecatronics is going to be my best bet but don’t want to waste time on the wrong courses.

Thanks
    Neil

Ps I live in NE scotland…

temp
    Participant

Neil

If you have decided to change career to work as a hands-on engineer/tech, then yes if you’ve not already got HNC type quals that is probably the best route – keeps your options open for many different engineering jobs, not just ROV.

For most jobs be it ROV or any other engineering roles, in addition to qualifications, companies and organisations also look for formal practical training and experience (such as apprenticeship etc). If 20yrs ago you changed to Flight Eng from e.g groundcrew or other previous engineering experience, then probably not too much of a problem.

Having worked with Flight Eng’s in RAF (as a groundcrew tech), they generally have very good wide-ranging systems knowledge, electrical, mechanical, hydraulic etc., good fault-diagnosis ability, good team work, able to handle pressure, attention to detail etc.