Home Forums ROV ROV Technical Discussions Focal 907 problems

Focal 907 problems

Home Forums ROV ROV Technical Discussions Focal 907 problems

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    jdahl
    Participant

Hi guys,
    This is my first time post on this forum, but it seems like you know your stuff.
    My problem is that the video image is flickering/blinking.
    It is very periodic, 16 "blinks" break for 30-40 seconds then 16 more and it keeps going.

I use Focal 907 and 10km with fiber. The Rs485, and 232 work, no problems there, so its seems like its only the video image.

any you can help me with?

johannes

Jeremy
    Participant

Have you tried the normal culprits. Dirty connectors, Poor Co-ax connector plugs, Changed fiber ect

Do you really have 10km of fiber or is that a typo?

Savante
    Participant

1)does this happen when the vehicle is on deck and there is little to no movement of the system?

2)Have you checked your losses through the system? Get a laser on it at the transmission end, and then track the losses through each JB.

3)What video distribution system are you using?

4)Are you connected using a single monitor to the fibre-video converter top side? (Take everything else out except for a single monitor first).

5)10 klicks of fibre is unusually large.

6) Do you have any other image artefacts coming up – does areas of brightness appear over amplified ? What camera are you using?

jdahl
    Participant

Thanks for the reply, just read through my post, my apologies for the poor English. I’m on the test-site and time was not on my side writing that.

Zero_viz; yes we have 10km of umbilical, it’s a pipeline inspection tool.
    But has a lot in common with the ROVs.

The flickering is extremely periodic when its there, so I think dirty, poor and loose of signal has to be ruled out, but yes I have checked it.

Savante;