Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Getting foot in Door

Getting foot in Door

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Getting foot in Door

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Wade Berglund
    Participant

Hello

I have been a member of this forum since July and have been monitoring the comments, reading the FAQ’s, redoing my CV (resume) and gleaming facts and information for attempting to start work as an ROV pilot/technician.
    I have sent off my CV to the big companies such as Acergy, Oceaneering, Canyon-Helix, Fugro, I-Tech/Subsea7, Sonsub, and Technip. With very luke warm response (because I have no ROV experience). I realize that this is the hard part of getting into the ROV industry. I have also reviewed links on the IMCA website and sent my CV to other companies listed there.
    I am internationally certified as an Electronics Engineering Technician (C.Tech) that has the equivalency as an HND. I have 22yrs of experience in the Canadian Navy as an Electronics Technician (Sonar) working on complex sonar systems, navigational aids, gyros, echo sounders, system data buses, computers, fiber optics, and weapons telemetry. Being a submariner I am very familiar with High pressure/low pressure control systems, hydraulics, DC/AC power systems and machinery.
    I am willing and able to work in any country, if given the chance.
    I know that the ROV industry is hurting for trained technicians but it appears to be impossible to get my foot in the door. If you folks have any positive or constructive suggestions, advice or pointers I would be very grateful.

Thank you

Octane_nor
    Participant

Have you tried contacting any of the agencies? Proffs, UKPS, Subserv Pro, Omega… etc.. it might be easier to get a foot inside, thru an agency.
    Best of luck to you! 🙂

SGB
    Participant

Target companies in Canada.