Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Good advices are welcome !

Good advices are welcome !

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Good advices are welcome !

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    sam
    Participant

Hi everyone,
    I registered on that forum about a year ago and i’ve been loggin in quite often to get some infos and today i finally post something !
    I’m 30 from France and… how rare… i’d like to get in the ROV industry πŸ˜€

I was a fighter pilot trainee in the French airforce (an accident which slowered my visual accuity forced me stop the training) i’m also a Scuba diving instructor.
    Last year I decided to search for a job that suited me and as i was reading informations on how to become a commercial diver i discovered this job.
    I also have a French equivalent to a BETC Higher National Diploma in Civil Engineering so i thought this was a very good idea because everything in my CV sort of come together.

The more i’m reading about it the more i’m motivated as there seems to be a lot of possibilities and job opportunities (and a good pay rate…)
    I registered on that website took some company name and adresses and made a trip to Aberdeen trying to get a job by knocking on their doors with my CV in hands even without an electrical/mechanical backgorund)
    i met the RH manager of Fugro and went to Oceaneering but unfortunately no answer from them so far (not really surprising)

Instead of paying for an expensive course at Fort Williams i decided to take some experience by doing an 9 months "electrical maintenance of automated systems" course in France which i’m not paying a cent. I also wanted to show that i take that job seriously and i’m not afraid to take the longer way to get more experience.
    I’m now beeing at the end of this course and i have to do a 5 weeks internship starting mid september which is a great oportunity to get in the industry.

the questions are: