Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Greetings

Greetings

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Greetings

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Marcel
    Participant

Greetings,

Yes another newbie and yes one curious about this field. I’ve scoured the faq’s as instructed and searched for relevant data but I’m still at a loss whether I have a possible background fit to pursue working with ROV’s as a career.

My background is that of a Broadcast Engineer starting in 1986 with closed circuit security systems, combat camera videographer/engineer, television/radio chief engineer and so on. Without going into it in too much boring detail, my background includes various formats and transport such as RF, microwave, baseband, fiber and ethernet file transport.

Extensive electro/mechanical troubleshooting and repair as well as multilayer PC board troubleshooting repair with all the fancy equipment that goes with it all.

System design for portable broadcast productions.

Media storage systems and networked sharing for editing systems and distribution.

Satellite uplink/downlink systems.

For the past several years I have been a Project Manager and consultant for broadcasters employing robotic camera systems and network automation, file sharing and multimedia applications using every compression format available as well as all the Systems integration that goes with it all.

I have always thought my path into this field was to work through the trenches of commercial diving (not that that wouldn’t be fun) but I see from the information on this site that it doesn’t have to be so.

So my question is….. do I have a valuable background that might be an asset for the ROV market.

What additional training might I need and who might offer it?

At 42 years old but still in very good shape, I am wanting a career change. I don’t mind starting off at the bottom rung as long as I’m working on something exciting (and this seems like a perfect fit for me).