Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Heads up please

Heads up please

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Heads up please

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Nathan Rusden
    Participant

Hi, looking to get into this industry and have a couple of years to run in the armed forces. I have 17 years experience as a mechanical supervisor on aircraft, hydraulics etc. As far as quals go i have a NVQ level 3 in aircraft engineering and a Fd Eng in aeronautical engineering (HND equiv)

As i have time on my hands at best 1.5 years and worse 8 months, I just wanted to know what courses, extra qualifications would you advise on getting, NDT, welding, fork lift driver etc that would be attractive to a employer.

I know hundreds of people are after jobs so i want to give myself the best chance.

Thanks in advance

Ray Shields
    Participant

Please read through other messages in these forums, especially the Rookie section as many other people have asked the same question.

Also, have a read through the FAQs (link is over on the left hand side).

Getting qualifications for welding, fork lift driving etc. in my opinion will not make you any more attractive as an ROV Pilot. Welding is often mentioned by people, but offshore you have to be a coded welder and unless your career is a welder and you stay qualified and regular re-assessments, its pointless having it.

What you need is a technical qualification and experience. As you obviously already have a mechanical background, I would suggest trying to get additional training in electrical and electronics (up to HNC standard, not Degrees)

Electrical, electronics and hydraulics, this is your key skills that you need to concentrate on.

As to whether to attend an ROV training school, again please read through the (many!) opinions on here as to whether they are 1) if any use and 2) of any value.