Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner is now a good time to get into ROV?

is now a good time to get into ROV?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner is now a good time to get into ROV?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Daniel Woodhall
    Participant

hello guys

Im currently serving in the royal engineers (10yrs) i have 6 months left on my contract then im looking to get offshore. Im an electrical engineer and have a GCSE in electronics. Is now a good time to be getting into the ROV world?

To be honest my arse is twitching a bit because it seems difficult to get into the offshore world and i dont want to be without a job.

Any advice would be greatfully received

Danny

James McLauchlan
    Participant

Danny

With your existing experience you should fit OK and now is about the right time but there is a small problem. There are way too many trainees looking for work at present. Your background and quals may help push you up the list of unemployed trainees a little.

6 months from now puts you into approx. Jan 2009. Are you able to do any pre-release courses before then?
    There are a few other things you’ll need in place too like, Offshore survival, Offshore medical.. non of which the military can provide to a level accepted by the offshore industry.

Send me a PM. One ex – Sapper to another ‘soon to be’ ex-Sapper.

Savante
    Participant

send me your cv – grant.thomson@savante.co.uk

ex-reme (and similiar) is suitable – but keep your twitching arse to yourself !

On a more serious note, if you have re-training budget available go and get yourself set up with BOSIET-HUET.

Daniel Woodhall
    Participant

cheers Savante

having my CV done very soon, as soon as its done i will get a copy across to you

Thanks Danny

Anonymous

" Is now a good time to get into ROV,s " what kind of a question is that.