Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Looking for some tips for direction

Looking for some tips for direction

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Looking for some tips for direction

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Blake
    Participant

I have done multiple searches on this forum over time and havent really found a direct answer for my situation.

I am currently studying Bachelor of Engineering (Mechatronic Engineering) in Western Australia and have 2 more months until I complete my degree. First class honours too. I have worked for a Chevron as an engineer during my degree but feel the design work, despite being oil and gas, wont help me in getting into the ROV industry. I want hands on experience.

I was a technician for 2 years before deciding to do engineering and Mechatronics was chosen because i wanted to work with ROVs.
    Now that me degree is coming to an end I am finding it difficult to find work that is ROV related. I dont want another design job. I could have ecured multiple graduate jobs already but i dont want to waste my time doing something i dont want.

I have thought about doing the ROV course but doesnt look like it has a high review from people on this board. The course for me was not about the material but about finding ways into the industry. The basic material was already taught in my degree in my opinion.

All the application i see online say they require some ROV experience. How do i get this experience ??

So here are my main question.
    Is it best to find a technical job in hydraulics (hydraulics being main limiting factor within my degree) not related to ROVs first. Or should I be persistent with ROV related jobs?
    Should I apply for a work visa in the UK and source out jobs in Aberdeen ? Or stay here in Perth ?

Your input is much appreciated

James McLauchlan
    Participant

Denks