Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Market Saturation

Market Saturation

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Market Saturation

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    David
    Participant

Hello
    Like a lot of guys here, I’m leaving the military and looking at offshore work. I was considering ROVs but I’m picking up on a slightly negative vibe on here for trainees.
    The training industry have their eyes set on the resettlement money that armed forces personnel get and promise lots of things that they don’t have to deliver.
    Am I right to be wary of ROVs and should I look at rig maintenance as a more realistic option? I’m a navy marine engineer.
    I’d appreciate the thoughts of guys with experience – good or bad.
    Thanks
    Dave

Ray Shields
    Participant

My opinion is that there are a lot of people chasing very few jobs.

As you said, Training Schools like taking money for training, pointing out that there is a skills shortage in the ROV industry, which there is. However, there is no shortage of people wanting to start.

There is a general skills shortage all across the board offshore, and as you will see from messages on here, ROV pay has lagged behind other jobs offshore for some time..

Dale Large
    Participant

I would not recommend ROV. I an ROV supervisor on a Transocean rig and when I hear the amount of money rig personnel make it make me regret taking this offshore rout.

Roy Simson
    Participant

Yes Oh your so right Ray on the rates side of things . They pay Pea Nuts and expect Hard Core Rov Personnel .

I think we should carry out a survey of many guys paid out for a rov course and how many got work !

James , You and many others have said many many times dont waste your money but like Lemmings they keep on paying for a rov course only to find they cant get work .

So for the guys reading this who did a course how many of you found work and how many are still looking and how long have you been looking .