Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Navy boy looking for a good time :D

Navy boy looking for a good time :D

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Navy boy looking for a good time :D

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Duncan Kiltie
    Participant

Hello!!,
    I’m an aircraft engineer in the navy (a glorified fitter) with qualifications in mechanical (hydraulic), electrical and radio(sonar/radar)
    systems and i want to be an ROV pilot tech, i have a year left to run so i want to get up to speed now on how to go about gettting a job offshore? Who is good to work for? Every one i have asked has said to get a welding ticket wich one do i need? I appreciate all of my questions might be abit deep for a thursday afternoon but i would really like a hand as there are so many companies and so many avenues to go down.

Thanks all 😀

Dunc.

Paul Francis
    Participant

Hi there mate, i’m in the same boat as you, so to speak. I’ve already completed the ROV pilot/tech 1 and 2 course, you can find the course info in any of the resettlement mags, (Quest and the like). That is the easy part. The next part is the hardest, trust me. This forum is probably the best form of information there is. If you are in your last year you should have access to the CTP. There is a one or two on there,every now and then, but you have to be prepared to travel for it. If i find out anymore, i’ll keep you posted

dennis speirs
    Participant