Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Need advise before going for course at underwatercentre

Need advise before going for course at underwatercentre

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Need advise before going for course at underwatercentre

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    tsk
    Participant

I need some advise on being an ROV pilot before going for the course at the under water centre in UK.

1) according to the training centre, rov pilots/technicians are very high on demandss. hence newly graduated rov pilots/technicians can find jobs easily. is this true?

2) the training centre mentioned about good pay even as a newbie. i will like to know the average range of the salary for newbies for their first jobs.

3) i have a diploma in electronics and communications. the training centre approved of my diploma and said i am able to go for the advance courses that skip the technical portion and i can train directly for the piloting training. however i have been working in the IT industry for the past 7years. i do not have any electronics work background. will that affect my employment?

4) i took a look at fugro employments page. they are only looking for technicians that do not requires rov training but just any electronics or electrical diploma. hence i am thinking if going for this course is even worth it.

please help me with my doubts. i am seriously interested in becoming a rov pilot. thank you

rover22
    Participant

Hi tsk,

Advice given over and over again by many forum users, if an employer will train you, dont waste your money.

FW is probably as good as most other schools and better than some, but they still want customers.

If FUGRO are interested in you, there are worse places to start. Many PTIIs have started at Fugro Survey Middle East and are still happily working regular trips out there.