Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner New to ROV

New to ROV

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner New to ROV

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    ionicwings
    Participant

Hi, I am currently studying ROV Pilot/Tech here at The Underwater Centre at Fort William, Inverness-shire, Scotland, UK. I have a degree in CSIT and worked as a Rich Media Designer/Developer before so this is like a huge career jump for me. I am just wondering if there will be alot of ROV jobs once I finish the course on Dec 14. Would really want to get tips from the pro’s here. πŸ˜‰

Ray Shields
    Participant

Firstly, what is CSIT? (sorry, just looked it up, computer science?)

Secondly, do you have any technical background or experience (electrical, hydraulic etc.)

If no, then your chances are very slim to none. If you do not have a suitable technical background, any ROV course in the world is NEVER going to help.

You MUST have a technical background/experience at a minimum to get a job in ROVs. Being technical plus the Course would give an advantage, having the course without any technical experience/qualifications, no chance.

Did you not consider finding out if the course would actually help you get a job before laying out thousands of pounds on it??

During the course, ask them about their training in hydraulics, work class vehicle, underwater tooling, fibre optics – why do they not give adequate training in any of these? Or do they only consider a Falcon as the only ROV in the world?

ionicwings
    Participant

hi rayshields, yes CSIT is Computer Science.. and Information Technology. And lol, yes we’ll have 10 hours of Piloting using the Falcon. Seems like you are from scotland? Where in scotland? Aberdeen?

Anyway, thanks for being honest. I am planning to have hydraulics course when I go back home (PH) and some other courses that I would need for ROV. Do you have any suggestions on what other courses to take?

thanks

πŸ˜‰

Ray Shields
    Participant