Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Noob looking forward to take up ROV course

Noob looking forward to take up ROV course

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Noob looking forward to take up ROV course

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    eric
    Participant

Hi guys,

I’m new around here. I was searching around the forum about ROV training courses, but couldn’t get what I’m finding. I am thinking of taking up ROV, but torn between two training location – IDESS in the Philippines and UTCSA in Australia. IDESS seems to be the more cheaper *cough* and reasonable option but UTCSA has an additional ADAS certification. I was hoping some senior forumers could help me out here.

By the way, I’m from Malaysia. I have a degree in E&E, which I spent almost 2 yrs working in a semiconductor manufacturing facility as an engineer and another 2 yrs as an exec in a shipping company whose clients include many from the O&G industry. The recent job include handling vessel and immigration clearance for offshore projects. I mingle with a lot of offshore personnel to know generally enough about what’s going on in the industry. The exposure is what led me to ROV.

Scott Beveridge
    Participant

Make sure your CV looks professional without the bull_hit (a truthful CV!!!) and put it into the companies in S’pore. Then call weekly to each one. If you know someone in the ROV industry – ask. I do not support ROV training schools, however, if you have to go to one, I would say Aust. would be the best bet. They require you to have a bona fide skill prior to enrollment.

deepseacon
    Participant

Well dont be fooled by the small print ADAS now thats a lot of—–.

ADAS does not have any say what so ever about rov skill levals.

ADAS is

http://www.adas.org.au/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=240&catid=42&Itemid=87

Diving Certs are ADAS fair enough.