Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Rookie Ex Forces (Some advice if you please)

Rookie Ex Forces (Some advice if you please)

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Rookie Ex Forces (Some advice if you please)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Bunkerbuster
    Participant

Hi all.

Ive had a good look round the excellant Website/Forum and FAQ and would like to ask some questions if i may about the industry and Job prospects.

A bit of background information….

I’m a serving Vehicle Mechanic (A) in the Army 13 years service.
    Mainly worked on Tanks and Recovery type Vehicles (513’s warrior, CRARRV) All manner of hydraulic Work From cranes to aux Winches and main 100t Plus winches.

Im leaving the forces in november this year and i am very keen to get into the Rov Pilot/Tech side of things.

Im currently Studying for a HNC in mechanical enngineering in my spare time and currently hold a C+G level 2 and 3 in mechanical engineering.

(Thanks if your still reading…… 😀 )

ANYWAY i am looking at doing the ROV training Cse at MTCS Ltd in wnidamere.

This is a 10 day course and will be mostly paid for by the army (Ressetlement programme)

I am also looking at doing my offshore survival course and medical….

Really what im after is the chances of securing a job…?

Is it to ealry to start sending CV’s out to future employees without these courses under my belt…?

Are these courses worth completing…..?

Obvious im well travelled and able to work anywhere in the world….

I hear conflicting reports of how hard work is to come by and if i only know the army with a small ROV course under my belt, will i struggle? who should i be aming my CV predominatly?

Is agency a good way to get my foot in the door?

Anyway thanks for taking the time to read this bumff………I apologise now for the spelling and grammer and i do use forums.

DONT RIP INTO A NEWBIE………… 😀

Ta.

Savante
    Participant

the meat-grinder is being wound up to speed as we speak…… 😆