Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner ROV Next Step

ROV Next Step

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner ROV Next Step

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Austin Darcy
    Participant

Hey lads ,
    So I have just returned from my training I have now got MIST & BOSIET and medicals for both UK & Norway my plan is to do the ROV Pilot grade 2 course in the next couple of months or as soon as I get the money together it’s my priority at the minute, for any ROV PILOTS reading this do you think it’s possible to get offshore without this course as a trainee my trade is Electrician with 6 years diving experience??
    Cheers
    Ozzy

Ray Shields
    Participant

It is more than possible. The majority of rov people working offshore have not done any of these rov introduction courses (which is all they are).

The priority is to have an appropriate technical qualification and experience. Your money would be better spent increasing your qualifications in any areas you are weaker at. Hydraulics, fibre optics, fault finding, safety stuff such as risk assessments, manual handling etc.

Companies know people cannot get experience of the job without having the job. They employ people who can repair and maintain the equipment. Learning to operate the equipment happens after you get a start.

Look at the FAQ link on the left at How To Lay out your CV.

Be aware you will be joining thousands of others who are all trying to get the few jobs that ate available. It’s very difficult to get a start despite their being a shortage.

Austin Darcy
    Participant