Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    mullan
    Participant

Hey Im new to this forum and have a couple of questions to ask the members about ROV’s. Im an Electrician by trade and qualified 12 years ago,the last 6 or so have been in supervisory roles (alot of paper pushing).Ive just finished a job in saudi onshore and have recently had a young baby.I am interested now in doing some offshore work(I believe the rotation is better than onshore), I go about my medical in 3 weeks and get the survival training after that. I ve checked out FAQ’s and the general feeling I get is not to do a training course in ROV’s.There is a lot of money involved so my questions are:
    1). How do you get the training and qualifications to be a pilot tech?
    2). Are companies hiring offshore rookies?
    3)Is the pay really crap?(1 course in fort william was 10 grand) so you would expect to be recognised in some capacity!
    4). Is it true that demand for tech outways the supply right now or have I been fed a good one!

I apologies if any of these questions have been asked over and over but I feel its something I would be interested in and a different career path so any honest related feedback anyone haswould be appreciated

Thanks
    Mullan

Ray Shields
    Participant

Hey Im new to this forum and have a couple of questions to ask the members about ROV’s. Im an Electrician by trade and qualified 12 years ago,the last 6 or so have been in supervisory roles (alot of paper pushing).Ive just finished a job in saudi onshore and have recently had a young baby.I am interested now in doing some offshore work(I believe the rotation is better than onshore), I go about my medical in 3 weeks and get the survival training after that. I ve checked out FAQ’s and the general feeling I get is not to do a training course in ROV’s.There is a lot of money involved so my questions are:
    1). How do you get the training and qualifications to be a pilot tech?