Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Rov training prerequisite

Rov training prerequisite

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Rov training prerequisite

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    MItchell
    Participant

Is a red seal boliermaker or steel fabricator ticket an acceptable prerequisite for the rov introduction program ?

Des_b
    Participant

CAN93

I dont know what a ""boliermaker"" is…. 😯 If its the same as a boilermaker…. 😆

However I can say read all the info regarding courses on the rookies corner and make up your own mind. To help out you dont need to be a fabricator and it wont really help you get a job, unlike being a electronic or mech tech…
    good hunting!!

Ray Shields
    Participant

Umm, no!

chris rawnsley
    Participant

Mate im currently trying to get a start and im an ex aircraft engineer with 8 years experience and a full technical apprenticeship, also a fully qualified gas service engineer and own my own company and im struggling. .an rov course wont help u if u havnt got the technical background as there are tons of ex forces with years of experience trying and sadly a 3 week course just isnt enough to compete. . Look at your current skillset that u have experience in and cross reference it to an offshore roll,then get your bosiet and mist courses done and start from their. .

michael kilby
    Participant

Into ROV then probably not

But if you have your wleding tickets then beleive it or not, those giant lumps of steel we call a rig do have the occasional need of a little tlc from somone who can talk to metal and make it do things

ROV for me is a fantastic job, but there are plenty of other offshore jobs out there that all need different skill sets

David
    Participant

CAN93