Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Usual sketch, should I, shouldn’t I?

Usual sketch, should I, shouldn’t I?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Usual sketch, should I, shouldn’t I?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Thomas Fyfield
    Participant

Hi all
    Well just gonna start by saying I have read the faq and about 4 years worth of posts on some threads, lil defensive I know but I just wanted to get the full benefit of what you guys think.

I’m a avionics tech in the army working on AH64 helicopters, HM gave me a NVQ 3 in avionics, my job gives me a solid understanding of electronics and a good understanding of hydraulics. Planning on doing a fibre optics course when the time is right and I’m a REME Cpl with some man management experience too but not gonna edge my bets on that fact for this industry.

I guess what I wanna know is it worth signing off, doing some "course" to sweeten the deal and jumping into a caravan to hassle the HR people in Aberdeen and try my luck. It sounds pretty depressing when its phrased that way and not been filled with confidence reading this forum but I want this and any advice/recommendations/experiences that would help me make my choice about fully committing to this course of action.

Hope to hear from the community soon.

Ray Shields
    Participant

I would not say that a course with one of the many Training Schools makes no difference at all. What I will say is it doesn’t make as much of a difference as the Schools like to make out.

The no.1 priority is someone who has the appropriate technical qualifications and experience. If you don’t start with that, you can do any Intensive Advanced Top Gun ROV course you want, and it will help little.

The other thing is that an ROV course is only good for applying for ROV jobs. There are many other jobs offshore (most of which are better paid than ROVs) so again it is silly to limit yourself to that career with a specific course.