Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion What path should I follow?

What path should I follow?

Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion What path should I follow?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hello everyone,

I’m currently a Eletronics technician and ROV trainee for SS7 Brazil, previously I had an internship on the i-Tech’s(SS7 division) facility here, on the electronics lab, but things were very delayed for a position, so I switched to the Construction division as a Trainee. Here I had an extensive training program with duration of more than 8 months.
    During this time I received an invitation to go on an interview on Sonardyne’s facility here in Brazil, the guy who did the interview was amazed and very keen to make me sign a contract there, the position was a very good one indeed, offering courses on UK and a much better salary, but soon after he said he were not able to do the deal because of the actual downturn, but bad times will end and I’m certain he will try to persuade me again.

The main question I have done to myself is what path is better? On SS7 I feel that I am a little bit limited because actually I’m working on a very old ROV system, although I think I have future, it will take a longer time to achieve. On the other hand on Sonardyne’s offer I’ll open a much cleaner door for working outside my country, something I always dreamed off, but I’m unsure about the company’s stability.

Sit Rep
    Participant

Hi Antonio,

I assume that you are a Brazilian citizen (your English is much better than the Englishmen on this forum)?

Firstly I would say if you still hold the ROV position retain it, if not, go for the the Sonardyne position. It will offer pay, training and exposure to other technology and survey fields.

That’s all

Ciao

Hi sitrep69,

Thanks for your reply and compliment. And yes, I’m a brazilian citizen.