Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner What’s the next step?

What’s the next step?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner What’s the next step?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    vikram
    Participant

Hey,

I’ve completed the ROV pilot/tech course from FW in Jan 08. Before that I did a 4 yr degree course in Electronics and Telecom Engg. I’m now working towards doing my offshore medical and survival course.
    Rov pilot is my first career decision fresh out of college, which as I have read isn’t the best as it means, no work experience yet. From all that I’ve read on this site, it’s going to be real hard to get started since there are already so many ppl with experience also looking for work. Either way, I’m going to stick with this and make it work somehow.
    Anyway, getting back to my query, I suppose the next step would be to start sending out some CV’s. I was reading through the topics on here where they said that it’s best to apply to companies in your area as foreign companies, say in the UK, wouldn’t be too keen to take on people living in India (where I live).
    Being a rookie in this industry, to find out which companies to apply to, I’ve looked on the IMCA website and have found a list of International and Regional companies and contractors. So i should start by sending stuff out to them?
    Just want to confirm if this is the right way to go about things.

Any replies will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Andy Shiers
    Participant

Apply for a job in middle east ,
    NPCC or CCC or Halul marine are always desperate for people 🙂

vikram
    Participant

thanks lostboy.. will look em up! 😀

Ray Shields
    Participant

What Lostboy said 😀

You have a better chance getting started closer to home. Middle East or Far East companies. Heck, theres a lot of work going on off India just now, you might find a local subsiduary of an international ROV company open up down there