Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner 101 Questions..Salary, conditions, prospects etc etc

101 Questions..Salary, conditions, prospects etc etc

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner 101 Questions..Salary, conditions, prospects etc etc

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Craig
    Participant

Hello, newbie here, be gentle.

If you had a £70k pa salary for working a Mon-Fri 8-4 in a FT salaried basis onshore getting home to the wife and kids every night, would you look at chucking all that in and starting afresh as a Trainee ROV pilot/tech? It may seem like a strange question, but £70k is at the top of my payscale and for the next 40yrs or so all I expect to get in future would be inflationary based pay awards. In other words, there’s no future career progression (Unless I went up the management corporate white collar route, but not something i’ll ever want to do)

£70k PAYE salary works out around £3,775pm take home after normal taxation and a 6% SS pension contribution from myself (£350) and a matched 6% from my employer (£350)

Okay, now that’s over, I know starting afresh as a trainee, my salary will literally be cut in half on a PAYE basis until I establish myself and rise up through the ranks, that’s fine, I’m prepared to do that for a better end goal and salary in the long run, so here’s a list of questions…..

1) I have been told the company have a 5/5 rotation and have vessels all over the world including Africa, none in the North Sea though. Is the employee given the choice to work in high risk areas such as Africa or is it expected of a trainee starting out to do as your told and go anywhere they wish to send you?

2) If a 5/5 rotation, say based in Singapore, is it truly 5 weeks on 5 weeks off or is the 2 days spent travelling there and the 2 days spent coming back from your 5wk off time? Also, is travelling time to these locations counted as offshore day rate or onshore day rate?