Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Are my skills and qualifications transferable?

Are my skills and qualifications transferable?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Are my skills and qualifications transferable?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Kev Tweddle
    Participant

Hello all, I have spent some time recently reading through the numerous posts on the forum regarding a career as an ROV pilot.
    It has always been a vocation that I have been interested in, but up until now I haven’t really been in a position to seriously consider trying to start a career in the ROV world or for that matter, a career change full stop.

To give you a bit of background i am 34 years old and have spent the 18 years since starting my apprenticeship working in engineering design. More specifically I now work as a Mechanical Designer, which is more traditionally what proper would refer to as a Draughtsman. Before going any further I would like to stress that I am not simply just a CAD operator. I hold a good mechanical engineering knowledge in then design of special purpose equipment across multiple industries. But at the same time I do not consider myself as an engineer.

I spent the first half of my career designing unit equipment for the steel industry. This is predominantly hydraulically operated kit that is utilised in extraction of molten metal from the furnace, handling of material during the various stages of the process and also various large hydraulic and mechanical valves situated around the plant.
    During the second half of my career I have spent time in other industries such as nuclear, where I have been involved in the design of remotely operated equipment for use in the waste processing and plant decommissioning sectors.
    I have also spent a few years working in the Subsea industry with involvement in the design of ROV launch and recovery systems as well as pipe repair equipment that is usually deployed using ROVs.