Home Forums ROV Self/Home Build ROV Discussions Command a rov via internet

Command a rov via internet

Home Forums ROV Self/Home Build ROV Discussions Command a rov via internet

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

This is one carried over from the old forum

Hello,

I’m a french student in electronic. I ‘ve got a project for a company: I must find a system to command a mini rov (type videoray) via internet.
    Moreover Ibwould like to have info about protocol used to control ptz, light and thrusters.

Thanks

Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

Hi Ranus,

I am not sure what you want to do. Do you want to convert a Videoray/LBV to work via internet, or build a whole control system?

Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

Salut Sumpguru,

My company (of tourist aquariums http://www.citedelamer.com ) is going to buy a standard mini-ROV to put in a big aquarium (the vehicle is not choices, maybe videoray, LBC or hyball!!).
    First, command is intended for tourists, so using command standard near aquarium.
    Moreover, command could be switch to allow Net surfer using.
    what do you think about it?

Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

Ranus,

Here are my thoughts:
    Make sure you get brushless thruster motors for prolonged use.
    For the interface you need to talk to the manufacturers. Each manufacturer uses their own protocol for the data link, and they are not likely to give out the information to allow you to make your own surface unit. That said, surface units are processor controlled, and often connected to the hand controller via RS232, so conversion to PC control should be fairly easy and not too expensive.
    Flying over the internet from a standard PC will be difficult – the ROV needs proportional control ( ie joysticks). Video over dial-up internet probably would not be good enough, but it would be OK on broadband.