Home Forums ROV ROV Pay Rates Expected Day Rate – Saudi

Expected Day Rate – Saudi

Home Forums ROV ROV Pay Rates Expected Day Rate – Saudi

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Neil Williams
    Participant

Hi

I am new to the game. Only started in the Summer but have been fairly lucky since then. I am certified with MTCS as Pilot Tech 11. I have had my CV put forward for a Saudi job with an agency that I have not worked through before. They have asked me ‘what are you looking for’? in terms of pay. I realise that I don’t have a lot of experience but I don’t want to set a precedent by undervaluing myself or the job. Any suggestions?

Ray Shields
    Participant

Firstly you are not "certified". There is no formal certification within the ROV industry, unlike diving etc. Training schools are especially bad at trying to say you will get "certified" when in fact all you get (or should get) is a piece of paper saying you ave done a course.

IMCA (who are an association of offshore companies, nothing official) have produced "guidelines", training schools may train against those guidelines, but this does not mean you are certified, qualified or authorised in any way.

As to what pay rate you should be asking for, I suggest you look at the Rates page (Link over on the left), the payrate you should ask for is one that you are happy to accept.

As you say you have been working since summer you have obviously been earning, what were you getting paid, therefore you should know what kind of rate your qualifications and experience will be worth?

emad
    Participant

What is the formal certification for ROV industry? is IMCA accepted?

Firstly you are not "certified". There is no formal certification within the ROV industry, unlike diving etc. Training schools are especially bad at trying to say you will get "certified" when in fact all you get (or should get) is a piece of paper saying you ave done a course.