Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner FAO Advice Givers!

FAO Advice Givers!

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner FAO Advice Givers!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Josh Southworth
    Participant

First let me state although I’m a rookie in this industry, i’m no rookie to internet forums so I have researched this highly useful site prior to making this post 😀

So where to start. Currently I am employed with the Royal Fleet Auxiliary as a Marine Engineer Rating. I have NVQ’s in mechanical/marine/electrical engineering, obviously not as fancy as an HND but with the work experience i get from drawn out 4 month trips i’m no novice!

I’ve been in contact with a few friends of my dad who met him as commercial divers and moved onto the ROV’s. They have been a great help but as they are busy workers i’d like to not hassle them with every question! Basically they have said what the experience i’ve been getting is great and have said the rov course will obviously help, i have investigated Global Marine in portland who run the course at a fair (enough) price.

But my questions:

I hold an ENg1, would i have to hold a different type of medical?
    I hold a BSSC, this is the mca’s merchant shipping sea safety course, but would i need to hold an OSS instead?
    With the RFA I have the choice (through good reports!) to get my 4th engineers ticket, should I bother with this or just try with the NVQ’s rather than HND? I would prefer not to simply because i would need another year to get on the 4th engineer course a year doing the course and a year after to gain work experience, and i do not wish to do many more 4 month trips! certainly not after my wedding next year!

I probably have more questions but i’ve rambled on enough so if you can either kindly answer these questions or provide links to threads that contain the answers it would be greatly appreciated! cheers

John TRAV
    Participant