Home Forums General General Board Greetings from Victoria, BC

Greetings from Victoria, BC

Home Forums General General Board Greetings from Victoria, BC

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Tyler
    Participant

Just wanted to introduce myself as I just joined the board. I am a ROV pilot with the Canadian Navy. We operate a few different ROV’s for inspection, identification and recovery work. I have been working with ROV’s for 2 years now. We also do work with sidescan sonar and AUV’s.

I am hoping to find more info on the civilian side of the business. I am also an avid technical diver.

Tyler Newman
    Victoria, BC

Wade Berglund
    Participant

Hello there

Go to the forum under the newbie section and read the information there, it could answer allot of your questions and get you started. Also go to the FAQ and look at those, it could help.

Good luck

Trimtank

James McLauchlan
    Participant

I am hoping to find more info on the civilian side of the business.

Tyler Newman
    Victoria, BC

Hi Tyler

Welcome. :tup:

You should pick up quite a bit of what you need around here. Some positive and some negative. I wouldn’t jump ship just yet though as things are getting quieter.

best regards
    James Mc

Wade Berglund
    Participant

Hey Tyler

Just to follow up on my previous post….welcome, glad to see a fellow Canadian taking the step to ROV’s.

I left the Canadian Navy after 23 yrs, I was an NET(A)…… (Sonar) and spent 17yrs in submarines.

I mirror what James has said, things are a bit bleak at the moment, but not diabolical. Depending on what trade you were and what quals you have you shouldn’t have any problems. But things are tough. It took me nearly 7 months of banging on doors (5 month looking at this forum, and understanding the business before my first post).
    Once I got a contract in hand I then put my release in.

Cheers

James McLauchlan
    Participant