Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Help PLS !!!

Help PLS !!!

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Help PLS !!!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    darek
    Participant

hi all

I’ve been thinking about rov course and got few questions to all you experienced guys in this forum .I’ve been reading a bit here and there and they saying now it’s not a good time to start any course because of the oil prices.Please can you tell me :

i have no experience in this sector some companies provide premium rov courses with Hydraulics, Electronics, Electricity & High Voltage is that enough to get a start with rov as a trainee ??

currently i’m working as a welder 🙂 before warehouse manager so totally different planet 🙂 no offshore experience whatsoever, do i have any chance to start rov career ??don’t want to spend a lot of money and not be able to find a job

i need to do bosiet and huet as well right ?

thank you very much for all your opinions

regards

Des_b
    Participant

Sorry mate

but its all on here in black and white…its not a good time and Im sure it will go on for quite a bit longer.

No one can tell you – its your choice.

It took me 6-8 months to decide to work offshore but that was 8yrs ago and times were better.

Read the info and then make up your own mind.

deepseacon
    Participant

To Help you if you do decide in the future to do ROV would be a good idea to work as a Welder offshore first.

But that would depend somewhat on the region you will seek offshore work as for Welding and what type of welding and if can get coded etc.

You wont see any increase in ROV operations for the next 6 months for sure.

And I would say 2016 will be useless for most but companies always take trainees on to keep costs down in hard times so you never know.

Plough work always needs good welders

Best time to do a Course if one is going to do one is when less people are doing them and some offer discounts.