Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner HELP… where do i start

HELP… where do i start

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner HELP… where do i start

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    abi
    Participant

I’m new to forums so hope i don’t sound to stupid.

I was hoping you would be able to give me some advice on where to start as I really want to become an ROV Pilot and work offshore.

I’m a female electrician and I work in a city centre hospital and have done for the past 5 years, I also have mechanical experience. I’m currently studying a HNC in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

It’s not a rash decision as I have been thinking about it for a few years now but I’m finding all the info over the Internet and from speaking to people very confusing and conflicting.

I’m in a position now where I want to actively start looking for a trainee position but I’m struggling to find a starting point.

I’ve saved up the money to do the offshore training and I just need to book the course but I’m scared I will spend a lot of money and never find a position.

I’ve got myself organised and have a folder full of different company’s ready to contact with my CV but I was unsure how to lay my CV out so it stands out from the rest and also I don’t know whether to ring the company’s or send them an email/letter.

As you can tell I’m in need or guidance.

Is there any help or advice you can offer me or could you point me in the right direction.

Cheers
    😀

Herman
    Participant

Currently is a bad time to start in the ROV business. Lots of companies are laying off personnel, plenty of experienced guys out there waiting to get busy. Would not spend any money on ROV courses.

You can keep trying sending your CV out, but don`t the get hopes high and make any decisions you might regret.

Hopefully business picks up in 2017 – depending on the oil price and the circumstances are better to start working in the ROV industry.

K2
    Participant