Home Forums General Financial, Tax and Insurance Insurance requirements for Ltd company

Insurance requirements for Ltd company

Home Forums General Financial, Tax and Insurance Insurance requirements for Ltd company

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Paulie
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m in the process of setting up my own ltd company and would appreciate any advice with regards to what insurance requirements there are.

I work as a technician/party chief/client rep on offshore surveys. As a freelance the company I work for normally provides repatriation cover and I provide my own travel insurance.

As a ltd company I think the clients might generally expect me to provide repatriation cover and travel insurance. I’m also aware that liability and professional indemnity insurance, among others, are available. I have no idea what is legally required, what is a ‘good idea’ and what is perhaps a frivolous waste of money! Would appreciate your thoughts on this.

luckyjim37
    Participant

Just noticed that nobody had responded to your question.

As a ltd company you should have liability cover so if you damage a clients equipment or injure someone on a job you are covered.

There is another insurance which covers you as the employer in the event of you injuring yourself/employee. This one may not apply to you as in the event of a major payout by the insurance company they would possibly look to reclaim some of the money and would end up suing you as the company director for the money they have just paid you, stupid really but there you go.

For public and Private liability cover you would expect to pay in the region of £1050 a year. For the essential cover which I think is the Public liability it is around £800 a year.

Here is the contact email for Offshore & Marine Insurance services Ltd

linda@offshoremarine.f9.co.uk

They are very quick to respond to any queries you may have. I have used them for a couple of years now and have had no problems.