Home Forums ROV ROV Industry Vocational Training MTCS – ROV (Supt) Training

MTCS – ROV (Supt) Training

Home Forums ROV ROV Industry Vocational Training MTCS – ROV (Supt) Training

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    T-Boy
    Participant

Was asked by a client the other day if I had an ROV Superintendents Certificate.

Last time I did any formal certification for ROV was in Windermere about 20 years ago! (HV, Pilot, Sub-Eng etc)

So, you see, I’m a bit out of touch.
    Is this the same kind of competency ‘Can you wipe your arse?’ get it ticked twice in a box and you’ve passed section 1, or a credible worthy course?

FWIW I have been doing the post for about 8 years on/off, so am not scared to do an exam or something similar, but signing boxes to prove competency is just a bit of a kick in the nuts.

Any thoughts or real-life views?

Andy Shiers
    Participant

Yes ! 😀

Roy Simson
    Participant

Ok this is what you need to do , Go to a previous company thats a IMCA member and request you need to be assessed as a Superintendent it does not have to be done by a school or a academy .

If you go to the IMCA web site it :- – http://www.imca-int.com/%28F%28GGxvagn0LZv8Tb7R7iRCQ5Jn9Ap-35m9oN3aAG8nd5zVT-cVtpeU3sc1BnVQWHt1Q8lraYvOCjev7wfyv3wlrv32xtxmcKNnHiaG9QYQoWU6H6q99vLNmkMhWy9t8bnvsHTQybufJaiRng_dy4IvbJYf9ANeCRgHQWe-GShbZ9o1%29%29/media/70629/imcac005.pdf

Go to section 4.4 Assessment and Review

Assessors need to be satisfied that personnel have demonstrated their competence on the job.

Generally such assessments are made with reference to ‘in house’ or industry developed approved assessment or performance criteria

Section 5
    provides additional guidance for assessors.
    Assessors may be any supervisor or manager with the necessary knowledge and training to apply the criteria in a fair, consistent and objective manner .