Home Forums ROV Self/Home Build ROV Discussions Need help on specs. for 10 Ibs of thrust

Need help on specs. for 10 Ibs of thrust

Home Forums ROV Self/Home Build ROV Discussions Need help on specs. for 10 Ibs of thrust

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

This is one carried over from the old forum

Hey all,

I have calculated that I need to 10 Ibs. of thrust to meet my requirements for a project I’m working on. I have limited experience on how to make this happen. Right now I know/think I need a brushless DC motor running 12VDC at low RPMs spinning a ~0.5M propeller with 2-3 blades. I think I need a 1/4HP motor to spin this prop, but I’m not sure.

Do any of you techies have a mathatical way to determine the thrust from a propeller at a certain RPM and torque/HP?

Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

Wolfie

Sorry I don’t know how to calculate, but there are other variables involved as well as rpm, such as design of prop, whether a nozzle is used etc. Thruster / prop design is quite involved I think, not sure if there is a quick and easy calculation?

You didn’t say what you need the thruster for. If it is for propulsion, there are some good off-the-shelf ones available. I’ve only ever used ready-made electric thrusters supplied with nozzles and props, for a couple of projects – I’d rather let someone else do all the design and calculations, no point in re-inventing the wheel. Check out websites:

http://www.tecnadyne.com/thrusters or http://www.seaeye.com/thrusters
    (tecnadyne 250 would provide the required 10lbs thrust).
    or http://www.sub-atlantic.co.uk/propulsion
    (they do DC brushless and also AC motors, also sell drive electronics boards).

Maybe you’re not intending to use for propulsion, as you said you want low revs and are using a large (0.5m?) prop? Use of correct nozzle makes significant difference to efficiency of a thruster.