Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion Oceaneering problems

Oceaneering problems

Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion Oceaneering problems

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    jason
    Participant

ever since i have joined oceaneering i have had problems. of recent i am sitting home more than working and the bills are piling up. i am still in the two year contract and was wondering if anyone has left oceaneering during their contract time. the contract states that i would have to repay my training if i left but i have heard of people leaving and not having to repay them. this is just hear say and i have no first hand knowledge. if anyone has any information it would be greatly appreciated.

piper
    Participant

Are you on retainer? If I was you I would starting floating CV with agencies see if you cant get work while you wait for them to make up their mind. Its easy once they have you sitting at home to last for quite a while. I doubt if anyone at Oceaneering will be any wiser if you went and did your 28 days out in Qatar or wherever with some agency.

Johnny Bravo
    Participant

There are a lot of guys in your position, I was in their training last year and most of the guys from our class sat at home for ages after it without a trip.

3 guys moved to the AME region and 3 including myself left and went contracting/back to their old jobs.

All you can do is email your operations manager and ask what the script is regarding work but if you are in the Asia Pacific region don’t hold your breath to be honest.

deepseacon
    Participant

Which office makes you sign a 2 year contract stating you need to repay your training fees to them if you dont see your contract out?

Andy Shiers
    Participant

Piper ………………… You are a wind up merchant and a Muppet 😀

Mike McEwan
    Participant