Home Forums ROV Self/Home Build ROV Discussions Potting electronics

Potting electronics

Home Forums ROV Self/Home Build ROV Discussions Potting electronics

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Jean Bizard
    Participant

Hi guys,

I have been a robotics hobbyist for some years now, and after spending these years designing wheel robots I’d like to try something new, and I would like to get my feet wet in submarine robotics (bet you could guess that). My ambition would be to make a ROV with vectored thrust, a bit the same pattern that the AC-ROV with direct-driven propellers on motors. There would be a tether for information transfer and power, which I’ll manage to equilibrate in water one way or another.

I’ve been spending some time browsing the internet to get information on how to do that, including reading carefully this forum and others.

I think I have a good idea on how to design structures and attach the thrusters on it, now my main concern is about electronics. I’m able to design my own PCBs and build them, but the "machine-tools" (if you may call them so… =/) I got available do not allow me designing neatly a water tight box to put them in.
    So when reading this tutorial for potting a camera, I thought "hey, why not potting the whole PCB after all ??" So I thought potting my PCBs in a ball of potting material (shaped in a film bag using modeling paste or such) to place it in the middle of my ROV with the thrusters around, and electrical wires coming out of it directly attached to the PCB (stripped as in this other tutorial).

This way, forget about any tight box.. I think this is simpler this way. But what do you think of it guys ? Do you see it as a viable solution ?

Cheers

J-Bi

Donald Faulds
    Participant

Potting electronics shows a lot of confidence that you have got it right and never need to adjust! Potting is fine for some things ….. but it doesn’t protect from deep sea pressure and keeps the heat in.