Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Relevant experience

Relevant experience

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Relevant experience

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    ArtDakota
    Participant

I am a commercial pilot, smaller general aviation type stuff. Used to working in remote locations throughout Africa, mostly.

Is this background in any way relevant for ROV work?

Thx!

LNM
    Participant

Unfortunately being able to fly an aircraft does not necessarily transgress over to flying an ROV and the actual flying is only a very small part of the job, most of your time offshore is spent diagnosing/ repairing faults and maintaining the system. so a strong technical background is preferred as it is easier to teach a technician be it electrical or hydraulic/mechanical to fly the sub than it is to teach a pilot to be a competent technician.
    Do you have any technical background before becoming a pilot ? if so that would be the way to go as companies rarely take on trainees without a technical skill and a few years experience in their given trade.

rfcno1
    Participant

You will also have to wear dirty overalls without any stripes on your shoulder. But you will be given a hat , not quite as smart as your current one.
    Also us offshore workers cant have a wee bevy behind the sticks like yous guys. 😕

ArtDakota
    Participant

Thanks for the reply. Basically bush flying with turbines so a fairly good general understanding of hydraulic systems, generators, inverters and electrical buses etc.. as well as diagnosing and fault finding is a pretty big part of our job out here anyway. It’s far removed from the glamorous world of airline pilots. We often have to do at least our own basic maintenance, checking of high and low pressure filters in the hydraulic system etc.. It’s not as good as a ‘proper’ technical background though.