Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner ROV Pilot /commercial diving.

ROV Pilot /commercial diving.

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner ROV Pilot /commercial diving.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

This is one carried over from the old forum

Hi

Im wondering if anybody can put me in the right direction, I am a welder by trade, And currently looking at going into Commercial diving being a Diver/Welder. I have been informed that theres going to be a shortage of Sat Divers in the future. I have also been told not to go any where commercial diving and look at being an ROV Pilot. If I where to go down the road of being a ROV Pilot:-

can i implement my trade into this Industry?
    How difficult is it to start?
    I know FortWilliam in Scotland used to run ROV Courses, But found that there courses where to expensive. Are there any other trainig centres UK/World wide/

I am of a tender of 28 years and know i need to make the right decision now as its going to be my career for the next 15 years 😀

Gina McLauchlan
    Participant

3rs

I’m not sure about the prospects in the diving side, I was hoping one of the ex-diver ROV guys from this site would post some info on that for you . Courses are very expensive and there is a limited amount of diving work about, and getting a place in sat is very difficult I think, especially in UK sector, some work in middle east. Most guys seem to have done a lot of air diving first before getting the better paid sat work. The diving population is ageing so there will no doubt still be a need for new blood into what is left of the diving industry for the small amount of work that is left. I think good welder divers get more work and more money, but I’m not sure. Try one of the commercial diving websites/forums.