Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Seamans Book

Seamans Book

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Seamans Book

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Makemineadouble
    Participant

Hi All,

Before i get abuse and hell from the old and bold, i will make my excuses now and say that i am new to the offshore industry and this site.
    If anybody can point me in the right direction it would be grately appreciated.

What are the motions for gaining a Seamans book? Is the book that you apply for online be used anywhere in the world? I have been after a job in the middle East and the requirement is for a seamans book.

Appreciate any advice and apologies to the Old And Bold crew on here for taking up a post!!

Crickitt
    Participant

Don’t double post. DOH!!

Makemineadouble
    Participant

Many thanks for the link mind 🙂 , crickitt….. :tdn:

kevnewby
    Participant

Makemineadouble,

I am trying to get into the ROV industry also and I have been informed by the guys at the Maritime & Coastguard Agency that I can’t get the seamans book without getting a signature from my employer. Seen as though I aint got an ROV job then the paperwork has been filled in and waiting until/if I land a job.

Ray Shields
    Participant

Makemineadouble,

I am trying to get into the ROV industry also and I have been informed by the guys at the Maritime & Coastguard Agency that I can’t get the seamans book without getting a signature from my employer. Seen as though I aint got an ROV job then the paperwork has been filled in and waiting until/if I land a job.

You do not need a Seafarers Card or Book to get a job offshore. This is something you will get AFTER you start the job.

For most Uk companies the only reason they want you to have a Seafarers Card is so they can get you deep discount tickets on the airlines.