Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Soon to be out the RAF, bit of ROV advice please?

Soon to be out the RAF, bit of ROV advice please?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Soon to be out the RAF, bit of ROV advice please?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    tonto2k
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am currently working as an Airframe technician at RAF Lossiemouth in North Scotland. I have recently got voluntary redundancy and I am really interested in getting into ROV work as I have a strong interest in robotics and also 6 years experience of Hydraulics/mechanical systems.

Most people I speak to seem to say Airframe technicians would be suited to this environment because of my current job and it really is what I want to do, not just for the money.

However, I am a bit hesitant at the moment to apply for ROV jobs online because although there are numerous jobs available I have no ROV experience and this seems to be a prerequisite of most jobs.

I feel I have the relevant hydraulic experience and I have also worked many 12 hour shifts whilst away on detachment in the Gulf. I just can’t seem to find any ROV trainee jobs?

Can anyone tell me where I am going wrong?

Thanks.

P.s I have a C.V available if anyone fancys a look at it 🙂

farq30
    Participant