Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Sparrows hydraulics course or ROV Course?

Sparrows hydraulics course or ROV Course?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner Sparrows hydraulics course or ROV Course?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Euan Wright
    Participant

Hi all,

Firstly, sorry for the age old repetitive question regarding courses to help get into the industry….

Currently I have an electronics degree and work as a Seismic Technician which has given me experience in Subsea electronics, mechanical maintenance and some experience in hydraulics with our heave compensated crane. I’ve been applying to a large portion of the big ROV players with no joy. As I only get 5 weeks vacation a year I was thinking the two week MTCS ROV course (don’t have the holidays or $$$ for the one at FW), however, reading the forum, I’d be lying if I haven’t been somewhat put off! Would anyone recommend it? I applied recently to a trainee position with Subsea 7 however they did stipulate that you should have completed a ‘IMCA’ course. 😕

The Sparrows Hydraulics foundation course was the course I was looking at. Has anyone found this course beneficial to getting in the industry? I guess the plus of this course is that this qualification is at least transferable should the ROV career not take off!

Cheers 🙂

David
    Participant

"Would anyone recommend it?"

No!!

With your experience you should be able to work for rig companies – better money and a more regular rotation.

Euan Wright
    Participant

Did you do the course? Was the content poor? My job is actually currently rig based but is ad hoc so any sort of rotation would be welcome. I’ve been fortunate enough to sit in on dives and shown basic maintenance whilst offshore which is why i’m really interested for this career move. Is this basically what the course covers?

Like you say at least the hydraulics course would allow for scope for other offshore jobs!

Cheers

David
    Participant