Home Forums ROV ROV Industry Vocational Training The Underwater Centre Fort William

The Underwater Centre Fort William

Home Forums ROV ROV Industry Vocational Training The Underwater Centre Fort William

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    John Bridgett
    Participant

I’m an absolute Newbie to ROV’s and beforer embarking on the journey to hopefully becoming an ROV pilot / tech I did a lot of research. My research revealed some positive encouragement and a lot of negatrive don’t do it type of comments. I was told that this board was extremely negative towards ROV training courses and I can see where the comments come from I do think however that it isnt quite as clear cut as some would have people believe.

I read so many comments about save your money don’t bother. Digging deeper the people making such comments generally were saying if you don’t already have a trade \ skillset in electronics \ mechanics \ hydraulics then don’t bother and I agree, Im fortunate enough to have all three and a lot more too.

So having decided that this route was the way to go I looked around at several locations and finally settling on The Underwater Centre. I chose this place because of the facilities and seemingly a good reputation.

TUC Facilities:
    located on Loch Linnhe
    Massive under water area
    Sunken wrecks of boats, tanks and miscellaneous other objects
    Tidal waters
    Mix of fresh and salt water
    Pier to inspect
    2 x Seaeye Falcons
    Dive school also on site, work with divers etc

So in my inexperienced opinion it goes a long way to real work environment. I booked an experience day and made the 800 mile round trip to try my hand and see the facilities first hand.