Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion trenching jobs trend and pilots day/rate

trenching jobs trend and pilots day/rate

Home Forums ROV ROV Employment Discussion trenching jobs trend and pilots day/rate

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Stefano Collavini
    Participant

Hi guys,

I’m a trenching pilot with one year experience, 1000 logged hours looking forward to start my carrear as free lance.

Does any body have some info regarding the average day rate for trenching pilots? (I mean the same of flighing ROV, WROV, less, more?)

Are the trenching pilots required by the market?

Any suggestion is well appreciated.

Many thanks

K2
    Participant

Genuin

The questions you ask along with your lack of time in the industry show a very limited experience. If I were you I would get a few more years under your belt before trying freelance work. You might want to look at gaining experience with several different trenching systems otherwise you are restricted in your employability. Also something to bear in mind, pilot hours logged while trundling along the 2D seabed in auto follow/ auto head with the odd jet system tweak now and again are very different to 3D ops with freefly subs. If you switched from trenching you would become a trainee on the lower end of the rate scale. Companies such as Canyon and DeepOcean have trenching systems and freefly, this would be an ideal starting place to gain the necessary knowledge and experience before going alone.

Before freelancing you should also aim to know and gain experience of the industry inside out, all the ROVs commonly used along with their equipment and LARS, companies, vessels, rates, areas/types of work, agencies and their scams to extract money from you etc etc etc It is a mine field for the uninitiated.

Good Luck either way

K2

deepseacon
    Participant

What Trencher you been working on then?

Stefano Collavini
    Participant

Hi K2 and Deepocean,

and thanks for your interest.