Home Forums ROV ROV Industry Vocational Training Early Mid-life crisis career cahnge

Early Mid-life crisis career cahnge

Home Forums ROV ROV Industry Vocational Training Early Mid-life crisis career cahnge

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Woody
    Participant

I would like to try and find out more about how to make a career in ROV indusrty.
    I am an electrician by trade, who for the last 4 years has travelled around teaching scuba diving.
    Now I am ready for another challenge and would like to link my former trade and current profession, if possible.
    I have tried to find out about training courses, career prospects etc, but can’t find anything adequate. This site has been the most informative, but I still can’t find the information.
    Can someone please advise me on where I can find information for ROV training and careers.

misiuek
    Participant

woody

just a hint you can go back in and edit! if your wanting help correct spelling is a starter! especially in the "subject"

sparky… well done mate!

diver …. boo!

joking! regards

KeyserSoze
    Participant

Woody,

Subsea 7 i-tec and fugro are looking for trainees at the moment, nowadays they seem to look for HNC/HND or some one with a trade background like yourself. As long as your not a twin and earth whippet you should get a look in. However dont expect to earn a lot of money, the starting money is low by sparks standards, its not until supervisor level that the money improves somewhat. Bear in mind you can make a damn good wage as a spark offshore. As long as money is not your main concern, go for it. Avoid spending extortionate amounts of money on training courses that promise the earth. If a company wants you and sees your potential you will get all that training for free and get paid for the pleasure.

Best of luck.

P.S. All the best to Freddie Mercurys folks if you happen to bump into them in Zanzibar.

Flymatt022
    Participant