Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner So.. what’s the trick to get in?

So.. what’s the trick to get in?

Home Forums ROV ROV Rookie Corner So.. what’s the trick to get in?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 51 total)
  • Author
    Yarrick
    Participant

Hi,
    I recently finished an ROV course at Fremantle (Australia). I’ve got over 7 years of experience as an electronics engineer. I am very keen to start as a pilot/tech2/trainee.
    I called/e-mailed all the major ROV companies in Australia and Singapore. They all said they are only looking for experienced personnel. So there is the catch: no experience = no chance to get experience.
    So… what is the trick to get into the industry? Wait for the right moment (maybe it’s winter or stormy season or something)? Call them every week, so they get annoyed and hire me just to stop me from calling? Should I try in other parts of the world, but is anyone going to take a trainee from the other side of the globe?
    Please help!

kangaroo
    Participant

I think it is a case of missed the boat!

Many Trainees have been taken on by companies over the last 2 – 3 years and most companies have enough of these right now.

On average we are getting 4 – 5 posts a week on the board now from people like yourself trying to get a start in the industry right now.

In fact, there is a shortage of experienced personnel and a lot of accidents are happening with ROV Operations at the moment, and I think Clients are starting to get a bit sick of it. The last thing they want to see right now is more Trainees out on the job.

There is quite a bit of pressure on Supervisors as well out there, as a lot of their offshore teams have inexperienced personnel. Sometimes the Supervisor cannot even go and have his meal these days if the ROV is in the water because the other 2 members of the shift are too inexperienced to be left in the seat alone.